COMMITTEES Department of Physics and Astronomy 2017 - 2018

Committee	Area of Responsibility	Chair	Members
Planning	Advises the Head on issues of departmental policies, strategic planning, faculty searches	Thomas Papenbrock	Elbio Dagotto, Norman Mannella, Jaan Mannik, Tony Mezzacappa, Kate Jones, Stefan Spanier
Tenure Committee	Review and recommendation on faculty retention, tenure, and promotion	Adriana Moreo	Adolfo Eguiluz, Geoff Greene, Mike Guidry, Robert Grzywacz, Yuri Kamyshkov
Awards Committee	Award nominations for faculty and staff	Soren Sorensen	Elbio Dagotto, Raph Hix, Stefan Spanier
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - Physics Majors	Curricular, recruiting and admission issues for undergraduate physics majors	Tony Mezzacappa	Geoff Greene, Kate Jones, Steve Johnston, Norman Mannella, Stu Elston (ex-officio)
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - General education and service courses	Curriculum for general education and service courses	Yuri Efremenko	Marianne Breinig, Christine Cheney, Jian Liu, Andrew Steiner, Margie Abdelrazek
Astronomy Curriculum Committee	Astronomy curriculum, instruction, and planetarium	Sean Lindsay	Paul Lewis, Raph Hix, Christine Cheney
Graduate Curriculum Committee	Graduate curriculum, graduate admission policies, graduate degree programs	Norman Mannella	Lloyd Davis, Cristian Batista, Thomas Papenbrock, Stefan Spanier, Andrew Steiner, Marianne Breinig (ex-officio)
Undergraduate Advising	Advise undergraduate physics and engineering physics majors	Stu Elston	Christine Nattrass, Adriana Moreo, Mike Guidry, Norman Mannella, Nadia Fomin, Steve Johnston, Haidong Zhou
Undergraduate Scholarships	Select scholarship applicants	Kate Jones	Stu Elston, Catherine Longmire, Nadia Fomin, Miguel Madurga
Liaison	Advice the Department Head on issues related to the undergraduate program	President of SPS	Peyton Nanney
Peer Teaching Evaluations	Peer evaluation of faculty teaching	Marianne Breinig	Adolfo Eguiluz, George Siopsis, Tony Mezzacappa, Thomas Papenbrock, Soren Sorensen, Kate Jones, Geoff Greene, Raph Hix
Recruitment and	Recruiment of graduate students. Admission to the graduate program.	Marianne Breinig	Christine Nattrass, Chris Parigger, Lucas Platter, Sowyanja Gollapinni, Cristian Batista
Student Appeals Review	Review student complaints as final step of internal appeals process	Stu Elston	Marianne Breinig, Ken Read, George Siopsis

	Develop a program for soliciting and receiving gifts for alumni, friends, and corporations, and identify departmental areas of needs and objectives	Hanno Weitering	Don Eisenberg, Catherine Longmire, Kate Jones
Shop Committee	Review use and operation of Electronics and Instrument Shop services		Geoff Greene, Kate Jones (ex-officio), Yuri Kamyshkov, Jaan Mannik
, ,	Review and update the departmental bylaws	Soren Sorensen	Elbio Dagotto, Tom Handler, and Geoff Greene