## COMMITTEES Department of Physics and Astronomy

## 2019 - 2020

Committee	Area of Responsibility	Chair	Members
Planning	Advises the Head on issues of departmental policies, strategic planning, faculty searches	Thomas Papenbrock	Cristian Batista, Elbio Dagotto, Jaan Mannik, Tony Mezzacappa, Kate Jones, Stefan Spanier
Faculty Promotion and Tenure Committee	Review and recommendation on faculty retention, tenure, and promotion	Adriana Moreo	Adolfo Eguiluz, Geoff Greene, Mike Guidry, Robert Grzywacz, Yuri Kamyshkov
Awards Committee	Award nominations for faculty and staff	Soren Sorensen	Elbio Dagotto, Raph Hix, Stefan Spanier
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - Physics Majors	Curricular, recruiting and admission issues for undergraduate physics majors	Tony Mezzacappa	Kate Jones, Max Lavrentovich, Norman Mannella, Lucas Platter, Stu Elston (ex-officio)
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - General education and service courses	Curriculum for general education and service courses	Yuri Efremenko	Marianne Breinig, Christine Cheney, Jian Liu, Andrew Steiner, Margie Abdelrazek
Astronomy Curriculum Committee	Astronomy curriculum, instruction, and planetarium	Sean Lindsay	Paul Lewis, Raph Hix, Christine Cheney
Graduate Curriculum Committee	Graduate curriculum, graduate admission policies, graduate degree programs	Thomas Papenbrock	Cristian Batista, Steve Johnston, Stefan Spanier, Andrew Steiner, Marianne Breinig (ex- officio), graduate student representative
Departmental Undergraduate Advising	Advise undergraduate physics and engineering physics majors	Stu Elston	Christine Nattrass, Adriana Moreo, Mike Guidry, Norman Mannella, Nadia Fomin, Haidong Zhou, Jaan Mannik, Jian Liu
Undergraduate Scholarships	Select scholarship applicants	Kate Jones	Stu Elston, Catherine Longmire, Nadia Fomin, Miguel Madurga
Graduate Student Liason	Advise the Department Head on issues related to the graduate program	GPS President	
Undergraduate Student Liaison	Advise the Department Head on issues related to the undergraduate program	President of SPS	
Peer Teaching Evaluations	Peer evaluation of faculty teaching	Marianne Breinig	Adolfo Eguiluz, George Siopsis, Tony Mezzacappa, Thomas Papenbrock, Soren Sorensen, Geoff Greene, Raph Hix
Graduate Student Recruitment and Admissions	Recruiment of graduate students. Admission to the graduate program.	Steve Johnston	Cristian Batista, Marianne Breinig (ex-officio), Mike Fitzsimmons, Mike Guidry, Christine Nattrass, Lucas Platter, Haidong Zhou
Graduate Advising	Administer and evaluate placement exams for new graduate students; graduate advising	Norman Mannella	George Siopsis, Max Lavrentovich, Andrew Steiner
Student Appeals Review	Review student complaints as final step of internal appeals process	Stu Elston	Marianne Breinig, Ken Read, George Siopsis
Endowment Development and Alumni Relations	Develop a program for soliciting and receiving gifts for alumni, friends, and corporations, and identify departmental areas of needs and objectives	Hanno Weitering	Don Eisenberg, Catherine Longmire, Kate Jones
Lounge Committee	Promote social activities	Nadia Fomin	Miguel Madurga, Showni Medlin, graduate and undergraduate student representatives
Shop Committee	Review use and operation of Electronics and Instrument Shop services	Robert Grzywacz	Geoff Greene, Kate Jones (ex-officio), Yuri Kamyshkov, Jaan Mannik

Diversity Plan Task Force	Develop diversity plan		Margie Abdelrazek, Sowjanya Gollapinni, Steve Johnston, Sean Lindsay, Catherine Longmire, Adriana Moreo, Christine Nattrass, George Siopsis
Bylaw Review Committee	Review and update the departmental bylaws	Soren Sorensen	Elbio Dagotto, Geoff Greene, Robert Grzywacz