COMMITTEES Department of Physics and Astronomy 2021-2022

Committee	Area of Responsibility	Chair	Members
Planning	Advises the Head on issues of departmental policies, strategic planning, faculty searches	Thomas Papenbrock	Cristian Batista, Elbio Dagotto, Jaan Mannik, Tony Mezzacappa, Kate Jones, George Siopsis, Stefan Spanier
Faculty Promotion and Tenure Committee	Review and recommendation on faculty retention, tenure, and promotion	Mike Guidry	Adolfo Eguiluz, Robert Grzywacz, Yuri Kamyshkov, Adriana Moreo
Equity and Community Committee	Implement diversity plan	Adriana Moreo	Adrian Del Maestro, Mike Fitzsimmons, Tova Holmes, Kate Jones, Miguel Madurga, Catherine Longmire, graduate student (tba)
Awards Committee	Award nominations for faculty and staff	Robert Grzywacz	Elbio Dagotto, Raph Hix, Stefan Spanier
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - Physics Majors	Curricular, recruiting and admission issues for undergraduate physics majors	Tony Mezzacappa	Kate Jones, Max Lavrentovich, Joon Sue Lee, Norman Mannella, Christine Nattrass (ex- officio), Lucas Platter
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - General education and service courses	Curriculum for general education and service courses	Jian Liu	Marianne Breinig, Christine Cheney, Yuri Efremenko, Ruixing Zhang, Margie Abdelrazek, Nau Raj Pokhrel
Astronomy Curriculum Committee	Astronomy curriculum, instruction, and planetarium	Raph Hix	Mike Guidry, Sean Lindsay, Andrew Steiner
Graduate Curriculum Committee	Graduate curriculum, graduate admission policies, graduate degree programs	Thomas Papenbrock	Cristian Batista, Steve Johnston (ex-officio), Stefan Spanier, graduate student representative
Undergraduate Mentoring Committee	Mentor undergraduate physics majors	Christine Nattrass	Mike Guidry, Tony Mezzacappa, Jian Liu, Norman Mannella, Jaan Mannik, Adriana Moreo, Lucas Platter, Haidong Zhou.
Undergraduate Scholarships	Select scholarship applicants	Max Lavrentovich	Catherine Longmire, Kate Jones, Hanno Weitering (ex-officio)
Graduate Student Liason	Advise the Department Head on issues related to the graduate program	GPS President	
Undergraduate Student Liaison	Advise the Department Head on issues related to the undergraduate program	President of SPS	
Peer Teaching Evaluations	Peer evaluation of faculty teaching	Marianne Breinig	Tony Mezzacappa, Norman Mannella, Thomas Papenbrock, Raph Hix. Haidong Zhou
Graduate Student Recruitment and Admissions	Recruiment of graduate students. Admission to the graduate program.	Mike Fitzsimmons	Adrian Del Maestro, Nadia Fomin, Mike Guidry, Tova Holmes, Joon Sue Lee, Jaan Mannik, Andrew Steiner, Haidong Zhou,
Graduate Advising	Administer and evaluate placement exams for new graduate students; graduate advising	Norman Mannella	Adolfo Eguiluz, George Siopsis, Andrew Steiner
Student Appeals Review	Review student complaints as final step of internal appeals process	Yuri Kamyshkov	Marianne Breinig, Ken Read
Endowment Development and Alumni Relations	Develop a program for soliciting and receiving gifts for alumni, friends, and corporations, and identify departmental areas of needs and objectives	Hanno Weitering	Catherine Longmire
Lounge Committee	Promote social activities	Miguel Madurga	Larry Lee, Showni Medlin, graduate and undergraduate student representatives

	Review use and operation of Electronics and Instrument Shop services		Kate Jones (ex-officio), Yuri Kamyshkov, Jaan Mannik
- · · · ·	Review and update the departmental bylaws	Robert Grzywacz	Elbio Dagotto, Stefan Spanier