## COMMITTEES

## Department of Physics and Astronomy 2022-2023

Committee	Area of Responsibility	Chair	Members
Planning	Advises the Head on issues of departmental policies, strategic planning, faculty searches	Alan Tennant	Nadia Fomin, Larry Lee, Jaan Mannik, Tony Mezzacappa, George Siopsis
Faculty Review Committee	Annual evaluations tenure line faculty	Thomas Papenbrock	Tony Mezzacappa, Stefan Spanier, Elbio Dagotto.
Faculty Promotion and Tenure Committee	Review and recommendation on faculty retention, tenure, and promotion	Mike Guidry	Adriana Moreo, Yuri Efremenko, Robert Grzywacz, Jaan Mannik
Equity and Community Committee	Implement diversity plan	Adriana Moreo	Cristian Batista, Kate Jones, Larry Lee, Norman Mannella, Tova Holmes, Sherwood Richers, Catherine Longmire, GPS representitive
Awards Committee	Award nominations for faculty and staff	Robert Grzywacz	Elbio Dagotto, Raph Hix, Stefan Spanier
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - Physics Majors	Curricular, recruiting and admission issues for undergraduate physics majors	Kate Jones	Max Lavrentovich, Joon Sue Lee, Norman Mannella, Christine Nattrass (ex-officio), Lucas Platter
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - General education and service courses	Curriculum for general education and service courses	Jian Liu	Marianne Breinig, Christine Cheney, Ruixing Zhang, Margie Abdelrazek, Nau Raj Pokhrel
Astronomy Curriculum Committee	Astronomy curriculum, instruction, and planetarium	Raph Hix	Mike Guidry, Sean Lindsay, Andrew Steiner, Sherwood Richers
Graduate Curriculum Committee	Graduate curriculum, graduate admission policies, graduate degree programs	Tony Mezzacappa	Cristian Batista, Steve Johnston (ex-officio), Thomas Papenbrock, Stefan Spanier, Andrew Steiner, graduate student representative
Undergraduate Mentoring Committee	Mentor undergraduate physics majors	Christine Nattrass	Yuri Efremenko, Mike Guidry, Yuri Kamyshkov, Tony Mezzacappa, Jian Liu, Miguel Madurga, Adriana Moreo, Lucas Platter, Haidong Zhou
Undergraduate Scholarships	Select scholarship applicants	Max Lavrentovich	Catherine Longmire, Adrian Del Maestro (ex- officio)
Graduate Student Liason	Advise the Department Head on issues related to the graduate program	GPS President	
Undergraduate Student Liaison	Advise the Department Head on issues related to the undergraduate program	President of SPS	
Peer Teaching Evaluations	Peer evaluation of faculty teaching	Marianne Breinig	Raph Hix. Jian Liu, Lucas Platter, Haidong Zhou
Graduate Student Recruitment and Admissions	Recruiment of graduate students. Admission to the graduate program.	Andrew Steiner	Nadia Fomin, Mike Guidry, Tova Holmes, Joon Sue Lee, Jaan Mannik, George Siopsis, Haidong Zhou, Miguel Madurga, Ruixing Zhang
Graduate Advising	Administer and evaluate placement exams for new graduate students; graduate advising	Norman Mannella	Cristian Batista, Larry Lee, Lucas Platter
Student Appeals Review	Review student complaints as final step of internal appeals process	Yuri Kamyshkov	Marianne Breinig, Ken Read
Endowment Development and Alumni Relations	Develop a program for soliciting and receiving gifts for alumni, friends, and corporations, and identify departmental areas of needs and objectives	Adrian DelMaestro	Catherine Longmire
Lounge Committee	Promote social activities	Larry Lee	Showni Medlin, graduate and undergraduate student representatives, Adrian DelMaestro (exofficio)
Shop Committee	Review use and operation of Electronics and Instrument Shop services	Robert Grzywacz	Kate Jones (ex-officio), Yuri Kamyshkov, Jaan Mannik

Bylaw Review	Review and update the departmental	Robert Grzywacz	Elbio Dagotto, Stefan Spanier
Committee	bylaws		