COMMITTEES Department of Physics and Astronomy 2023-2024

Committee	Area of Responsibility	Chair	Members
Planning	Advises the Head on issues of departmental policies, strategic planning, faculty searches	Alan Tennant	Nadia Fomin; Larry Lee; Jaan Mannik; Tony Mezzacappa
Faculty Review Committee	Annual evaluations tenure line faculty	Thomas Papenbrock	Tony Mezzacappa; Stefan Spanier; Elbio Dagotto.
Faculty Promotion and Tenure Committee	Review and recommendation on faculty retention, tenure, and promotion	Mike Guidry	Adriana Moreo; Yuri Efremenko; Adolfo Eguiluz; Thomas Papenbrock
Equity and Community Committee	Implement diversity plan	Adriana Moreo	Norman Mannella; Tova Holmes; Sherwood Richers; Dien Nguyen; Amanda Blair; GPS representitive
Awards Committee	Award nominations for faculty and staff	Jaan Mannik	Elbio Dagotto; Andrew Steiner; Adolfo Eguiluz
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - Physics Majors	Curricular, recruiting and admission issues for undergraduate physics majors	Haidong Zhou	Joon Sue Lee; Norman Mannella; Christine Nattrass (ex-officio); Lucas Platter; Yuri Kamyshkov
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - General education and service courses	Curriculum for general education and service courses	Jian Liu	Marianne Breinig; Christine Cheney; Andrew Steiner; Margie Abdelrazek; Nau Raj Pokhrel
Astronomy Curriculum Committee	Astronomy curriculum, instruction, and planetarium	Raph Hix	Mike Guidry; Sean Lindsay; Sherwood Richers
Graduate Curriculum Committee	Graduate curriculum, graduate admission policies, graduate degree programs	Tony Mezzacappa	Norman Mannella; Steve Johnston (ex-officio); Stefan Spanier; Andrew Steiner; graduate student representative
Undergraduate Mentoring Committee	Mentor undergraduate physics majors	Christine Nattrass	Mike Guidry; Tony Mezzacappa; Jian Liu; Norman Mannella; Jaan Mannik; Adriana Moreo; Lucas Platter; Haidong Zhou
Assessment Committee	Perform duties related to physics program assessment	Marianne Breinig	Lucas Platter; Larry Lee; Hanno Weitering
Undergraduate Scholarships	Select scholarship applicants	Haidong Zhou	Catherine Longmire; Adrian Del Maestro (ex- officio)
Graduate Student Liason	Advise the Department Head on issues related to the graduate program	GPS President	Isaac Ownby
Undergraduate Student Liaison	Advise the Department Head on issues related to the undergraduate program	President of SPS	Gage Erwin
Peer Teaching Evaluations	Peer evaluation of faculty teaching	Marianne Breinig	Raph Hix; Jian Liu; Lucas Platter; Thomas Papenbrock
Graduate Student Admissions	Manages admission to the graduate program.	Nadia Fomin / Tova Holmes	Yang Zhang; Wonhee Ko; Andrew Steiner; Miguel Madurga; Yuri Efremenko; Dien Nguyen
Graduate Student Recruitment	Works in collaboration with the Graduate student admissions committee to recruit students to the gradaute program	Steve Johnston	Sherwood Richers; Larry Lee; Dien Nguyen; Miguel Madurga
Graduate Advising	Administer and evaluate placement exams for new graduate students; graduate advising	Norman Mannella	Ruixing Zhang; Larry Lee; Lucas Platter

	Review student complaints as final step of internal appeals process	Yuri Kamyshkov	Marianne Breinig; Ken Read
Development and Alumni Relations		Adrian Del Maestro	Catherine Longmire
Community Connections Committee	Promote social activities		Showni Medlin; graduate and undergraduate student representatives; Adrian DelMaestro (ex-officio)
	Review use and operation of Electronics and Instrument Shop services	Robert Grzywacz	Yuri Kamyshkov; Wonhee Ko
	Review and update the departmental bylaws	Stefan Spanier	Elbio Dagotto; Tony Mezzacappa