COMMITTEES Department of Physics and Astronomy 2024-2025

Committee	Area of Responsibility	Chair	Members
Planning	Advises the Head on issues of departmental policies, strategic planning, faculty searches	Alan Tennant	Nadia Fomin; Tova Holmes; Jaan Mannik; Tony Mezzacappa; George Siopsis
Faculty Review Committee	Annual evaluations tenure line faculty	Thomas Papenbrock	Tony Mezzacappa; Stefan Spanier; Elbio Dagotto.
Faculty Promotion and Tenure Committee	Review and recommendation on faculty retention, tenure, and promotion	Mike Guidry	Adriana Moreo; Yuri Efremenko; Adolfo Eguiluz; Thomas Papenbrock;
Community Climate Committee	Implement diversity plan	Adriana Moreo	Norman Mannella; Miguel Madurga; Sherwood Richers; Amanda Blair; GPS representitive
Awards Committee	Award nominations for faculty and staff	Jaan Mannik	Elbio Dagotto; Adolfo Eguiluz; George Siopsis; Hanno Weitering
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - Physics Majors	Curricular, recruiting and admission issues for undergraduate physics majors	Haidong Zhou	Joon Sue Lee; Christine Nattrass (ex-officio); Yuri Kamyshkov; Lucas Platter
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee - General education and service courses	Curriculum for general education and service courses	Andrew Steiner	Marianne Breinig; Christine Cheney; Irene Guerinot; Nau Raj Pokhrel
Astronomy Curriculum Committee	Astronomy curriculum, instruction, and planetarium	Raph Hix	Mike Guidry; Sean Lindsay; Sherwood Richers
Graduate Curriculum Committee	Graduate curriculum, graduate admission policies, graduate degree programs	Tony Mezzacappa	Norman Mannella; Steve Johnston (ex-officio); Yang Zhang; Andrew Steiner; graduate student representative
Undergraduate Mentoring Committee	Mentor undergraduate physics majors	Christine Nattrass	Mike Guidry; Lucas Platter; Stefan Spanier; Elbio Dagotto; Ruixing Zhang
Assessment Committee	Perform duties related to physics program assessment	Marianne Breinig	Yang Zhang; Hanno Weitering
Undergraduate Scholarships	Select scholarship applicants	Haidong Zhou	Catherine Longmire; Adrian Del Maestro (ex- officio)
Peer Teaching Evaluations	Peer evaluation of faculty teaching	Marianne Breinig	Ken Read; Cristian Batista; Thomas Papenbrock
Graduate Student Admissions	Manages admission to the graduate program.	Nadia Fomin / Tova Holmes	Wonhee Ko; Andrew Steiner; Miguel Madurga; Yuri Efremenko; Joon Sue Lee; Yuri Kamyshkov; Hanno Weitering; Cristian Batista; Dien Nguyen; Lucas Platter
Graduate Student Recruitment	Works in collaboration with the Graduate student admissions committee to recruit students to the gradaute program	Steve Johnston	Sherwood Richers; Larry Lee; Dien Nguyen; Miguel Madurga
Graduate Advising	Administer and evaluate placement exams for new graduate students; graduate advising	Norman Mannella	Ruixing Zhang; Larry Lee; George Siopsis; Cristian Batista
Student Appeals Review	Review student complaints as final step of internal appeals process	Yuri Kamyshkov	Marianne Breinig; Ken Read
Endowment Development and Alumni Relations	Develop a program for soliciting and receiving gifts for alumni, friends, and corporations, and identify departmental areas of needs and objectives	Adrian Del Maestro	Catherine Longmire
Community Connections Committee	Promote social activities	Adolfo Eguiluz	Showni Medlin; graduate and undergraduate student representatives; Adrian DelMaestro (ex- officio)
Shop Committee	Review use and operation of Electronics and Instrument Shop services	Robert Grzywacz	Yuri Kamyshkov; Wonhee Ko
Bylaw Review Committee	Review and update the departmental bylaws	Stefan Spanier	Elbio Dagotto; Jaan Mannik